Art Stamping & Papercrafts

Journal Pages

I had never made any Journal pages but when we were set a challenge on the Graphicus Guild Forum to make some I decided to ‘have a go’ and these are what I came up with.

The theme was TIME.

I started with sheets of 8×8 watercolour paper and jessoed them in parts and then added acrylic paints, glimmer mists , Distress inks and stamped images. The Beatles images were printed onto Safmat and added to the pages.  The Beatles are my favourite group of all time and those images make me think of ‘times gone by’. Hard to believe that it is nearly 50 years ago.

 

Times gone by THE BEATLES

 

 

On the ‘Time of Roses’ page the poem by Thomas Hood was printed onto copy paper and distressed before being glued to the page. The  image  – The Soul of the Rose by John William Waterhouse (1849-1917)  was painted in 1908 and is one of my favourite images from my favourite school of painting- the Pre-Raphaelites , although he was really a Neo Classicist,  and I thought that the poem went with it well.

 

 

The Soul of The Rose - J W Waterhouse

 

 

The pages have been sent to a member of the group who is going to bind them into a book for her pupils at school.  Hope they like it when it is finished – there are about 20 of us making pages for it.

Leave a Reply

