Art Stamping & Papercrafts

Inspired by Judith

Yesterday’s post told the story of my fabulous weekend at Glenda’s Workshop and today I would like to share a few things I made yesterday.

At the workshop Judith Smith made a beautiful wooden affirmation block and I thought I would use that as inspiration for one of my own.

I found a wooden canvas that I had purchased from Chocolate Baroque and started by adding white gesso. When that had dried I applied Golden Light Moulding Paste through a leaf stencil and allowed that to dry thoroughly.

I then added pan pastel in a creamy colour, using one of the new egg shaped blending sponges, and then green over the top of the relief leaves.

I stamped an Inkylicious sentiment onto some tissue paper and glued it to the block using Golden Soft Gel Matte on the back and also over the front of the sentiment. This helps it ‘sink’ into the background. I think I used too thick a tissue paper as the edges are still slightly visible.

I then used three shades of green ink and stamped images from Chocolate Baroque Clear Stamps, ‘Floral Edges’ mainly along the bottom edge and lightly around the other three edges.

Finally I inked the sides of the block with Distress Ink in Black Soot.

  
My second offering is a card I made with Chocolate Baroque’s  ‘A Year of Stamps’ April butterfly stamp.

I scribbled two co,ours of Gelato’s into the card blank and smeared them around pad with a baby wipe to give an uneven painterly background and mounted the stamped image on this. The image was stamped twice , the base layer gently coloured with Gelato’s and I cut out the main butterfly images from the other layer and coloured them with Gelato’s and Spectrum Noir pencils before mounting them on top of the base layer.

  
My final offering today is a canvas backed notebook I bought from The Works. I decorated it using Gelato’s, acrylic paint and stencils. It may need a bit more adding to it but I will think about it, any suggestions.

  

Leave a Reply

